Ballon d’Or 2021: Who Wins the Trophy This Year?

It’s that time of the year again when the besst footballer on the planet is set to be crowned with the the prestigious Ballon d’Or trophy.

Last season the Ballon d’Or was not held due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

And the awards return after the hiatus caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. The ceremony will take place in Paris and broadcast to a global audience. 

Lionel Messi was the last player to win the award in 2019, and that was his sixth honor of the trophy. His rival Cristiano Ronaldo five Ballon d’Or trophies. Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric won in 2018, and the only playerto have come between the keen competion between the two who shared it most.

This year who is it going to be? There are 30 finalists in 2021.

Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski with his single-season goals record and currently tops the UEFA Champions League scorers’ list; and Liverpool star Mo Salah earned media buzz with his hot start to the 2021-22 season in the Premier League and Chelsea midfielder Jorginho with his role in the champions league win coupled with the Euro 2020 triumph are also leading contenders.

Who Will Win Ballon d'Or 2021 ? Ballon d'Or 2021 Top 3 Power Ranking 2021.  - YouTube
Who wins the 2021 Ballon D’Or? Which of the top contenders will win?

Men’s 2021 Ballon D’Or nominees

  • Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)
  • Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  • Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
  • Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
  • Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
  • Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Jorginho (Chelsea)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham)
  • N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)
  • Simon Kjaer (AC Milan)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  • Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)
  • Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)
  • Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  • Gerard Moreno (Villarreal)
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea)
  • Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Pedri (Barcelona)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
  • Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid)

The best young men’s player (Kopa Trophy) and top men’s goalkeeper (Yashin Trophy) will also be recognized.

While there are 20 nominees for the women’s Ballon d’Or. The last winner, Megan Rapinoe in 2019 is not a finalist.

Women’s 2021 Ballon D’Or nominees

  • Fran Kirby (Chelsea)
  • Christine Sinclair  (Portland Thorns)
  • Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyon)
  • Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)
  • Ellen White (Manchester City)
  • Irene Paredes (FC Barcelona)
  • Lieke Martens (FC Barcelona)
  • Sam Kerr (Chelsea)
  • Kadidiatou Diani (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Alexia Putellas (FC Barcelona)
  • Samantha Mewis (NC Courage)
  • Ashley Lawrence (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea)
  • Stina Blackstenius (BK Hacken)
  • Jessie Fleming (Chelsea)
  • Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)
  • Sandra Panos (FC Barcelona)
  • Pernille Harder (Chelsea)
  • Jennifer Hermoso (FC Barcelona)
  • Marie-Antoinette Katoto (Paris Saint-Germain)
Image: Twitter

The ceremony to crown the winner will start around 7:30pm GMT on Monday, November 29, at a gala Chatelet Theatre in Paris.

French outlet L’Equipe will be streaming the ceremony live on their Youtube channel from 7:30pm.

The ceremony will also be available to stream via Eurosport’s website and Eurosport’s app.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply